Please help with opinion and tips

by Josh B.
(USA)

First off I'd like to provide the details before the criticism comes. I work on remodeling job, (currently about to find something else and I believe I have a job), and I've developed bursitis in my shoulders and elbows, and a little bit of tendonitis in my wrists (from elbows).


I'm almost better, and I'm about to start a new program. I was going to stick with a moderate weight, start off light of course, but keep my rep range in the 10-15 range. I'll keep my sets at how I feel that day. I'd like to get up to 3 sets an exercise, but I'm starting at 1 and working my way up. Here is my workout, if you have exercise substitution opinions please feel free to tell me if you think an exercise would be better on me because of my tendonitis/bursitis. I'm 17, so I'm not too interested in hurting myself of course.

Monday:
Squat
Lateral Raise
Curl
Abs

Tuesday:
Cardio (20 mins)

Wednesday:
Bench Press
Single Leg Squat/Wall Sit-option
Close Grip Pushup for triceps unless someone has a better exercise for my elbows
Abs

Thursday-rest

Friday:
Hack Squat
Incline Bench Press
Pullups
Abs

Sat. & Sun.-rest

Follow this program for 3 weeks then take a week off, then follow for 3 weeks, then take a week off. Take every fourth week off so my joints have plenty of time to heal and I hopefully wont have tendonitis/bursitis again.

What do you think? I'm looking to have a look like Taylor Kitsch from the TV show Friday Night Lights, or like Rain Bi from Ninja Asassain, or like Bruce Lee. I'd be happy if I could get those looks.

I have my diet down, I'm also going to supplement a mass gainer in there as well, seeing as I have a hard time gaining weight, but not a hard time adding muscle

Aaron's Answer…


OK, you've got the most important aspect down: determination! Now, lets channel that into a more sensible approach to your workout.

1. First Off, Rest!

Bursitis and tendonitis aren't any fun, but you must rest to get better. If you keep stressing your joints you will get seriously hurt. You're young - don't be stupid.

If possible, find another job or take some time off. And, ideally, go to a doctor and have him/her check out the bursitis.

Also, check out the muscle pain and recovery page here to see if icing or heating helps, or if your issues are trigger point related. This shouldn't take long, and could really help your recovery.

Believe me, I know how painful and frustrating this can be. I've had tennis elbow and chronic knee pain in high school and about half of College. I was able to heal it, but it was horrible. You just have to let yourself recover, and find out as much about your injury (and how to cure it) as possible.

2. Once You've Healed, Start A Relaxed Program

Your program looks OK, though I'd just do 3 exercises a day. Only be in the gym for 45 minutes, work hard, and then get out of there.

And make sure you are truly sure that your arms and shoulders have healed. All those bench presses and push-ups look dangerous.

If your arms haven't healed, consider just doing lower body exercises till they are healed. Squats are great for this.

3. Get Ripped With a Good Diet

Getting ripped is more a function of having a low body fat percentage than lifting heavy. And you get a low body fat percentage by…

1. Eating Right,

2. Doing Intense Exercise

&

3. Restricting Your Calorie Intake

So, as for eating right...

Eating right means eating close to raw foods that will not spike your insulin. In a nutshell, carbs and refined sugars cause your insulin to spike. Insulin will cause you to put on fat. So, more meat and animal/vegetable fat - less bread and carbs. And absolutely no cakes, cookies, etc.

Check out this six pack abs diet and the other pages about getting a six pack for a more comprehensive plan.

Rule of thumb: If it once grew, walked, swam, or flew it's good. If it comes out of a plastic wrapper, it's bad.

On intense exercise…

Intense exercise gives you the most bang for your buck in terms of time spent vs. returns in muscle building, increase in metabolic rate, and burning calories. HIIT training is good for cardio, and remember to keep all your workouts short and sweet.

And as for calorie restriction...

On the pages about six pack abs, you'll be able to calculate how many calories you use each day. Undercut that by about 500 calories, through diet and exercise. That way you'll lose about a pound a week of fat, not muscle, assuming you're doing some weight lifting to maintain your muscles.

Here's how ripped I got on a good diet over the last 7 weeks, working out only twice a week with multi-joint exercises and a little ab work. It's not where I want to be in the end, but 8.3% body fat ain't too shabby.

Diet has more to do with looking great than spending 10 hours a week at the gym

I hope this helps,
Aaron

Comments for Please help with opinion and tips

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 19, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
buy youtube subscribers NEW
by: Anonymous

buy youtube subscribers Great info! I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have.youtube views

Oct 15, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
click here NEW
by: Anonymous

Your blog provided us with valuable information to work with. Each & every tips of your post are awesome. Thanks a lot for sharing. Keep blogging click here

Oct 14, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Game Hack NEW
by: Anonymous

monster legends cheat Very interesting information, worth recommending. However, I recommend this: clash of clans gemme gratuit

Sep 25, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Hotmail NEW
by: Anonymous

Now You can easily Login Hotmail.co.uk from some steps

Sep 24, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Mascarillas NEW
by: Anonymous

Las Mascarillas Para La Cara exfoliantes tienen por objeto eliminar las impurezas del rostro.

Sep 24, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Xender NEW
by: Anonymous

Get Xender Download for pc on Your PC and Laptop easy method of bluestacks

Sep 24, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Share it NEW
by: Anonymous

Now You can easily Download Shareit For PC via a bluestacks

Sep 08, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I love this post. NEW
by: Anonymous

Do not know what to say, I liked your article and I hope you will have many entries or more.firefly
selfie stick

Aug 07, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Education Trust NEW
by: Anonymous

Maharishi Markandeshwar University, Mullana - Ambala, erstwhile known as Maharishi Markandeshwar Education Trust was founded with the objective of social, educational and economic upliftment of society in the year 1993, in the name of Lord Shiva's devotee, "Maharishi Markandeshwar Ji.
Top MCA college in haryana
Hotel management college in haryana
Best Research Environment
Top MBA college in haryana
Mechanical Engineering college in north India

Aug 07, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Education Trust NEW
by: Anonymous

Maharishi Markandeshwar University, Mullana - Ambala, erstwhile known as Maharishi Markandeshwar Education Trust was founded with the objective of social, educational and economic upliftment of society in the year 1993, in the name of Lord Shiva's devotee, "Maharishi Markandeshwar Ji.
Best University in haryana
BCA College in Haryana
Best Institute of Management (MBA)
Best Engineering college in north India
BBA college in haryana

Jul 24, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
girls' English medium NEW
by: Anonymous

Mody School is an exclusively girls' English medium residential school from classes III to XII affiliated to the CBSE, New Delhi. Established in 1988 by Shri Rajendra Prasad Ji Mody, Our Guiding Spirit & Chairman BOG, the School produces individuals with a global outlook.
Top 10 girls boarding school in India


Jul 24, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
girls' English medium NEW
by: Anonymous

Mody School is an exclusively girls' English medium residential school from classes III to XII affiliated to the CBSE, New Delhi. Established in 1988 by Shri Rajendra Prasad Ji Mody, Our Guiding Spirit & Chairman BOG, the School produces individuals with a global outlook.
Girls boarding school in India

Jul 09, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
DTC strives to impart quality NEW
by: Anonymous

DTC strives to impart quality education to transform students to become dynamic in their approach, thinking, attitude & life style.DTC always tries to improve learning process as a Centre of excellence.
B Tech college in bahadurgarh
Best MBA placement in Delhi ncr
Best MBA College in Haryana NCR
B Tech in Mechanical Engineering Delhi ncr

Jul 09, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
DTC strives to impart quality NEW
by: Anonymous

DTC strives to impart quality education to transform students to become dynamic in their approach, thinking, attitude & life style.DTC always tries to improve learning process as a Center of excellence.
Best b tech college in delhi ncr
Top engineering college in haryana NCR
B Tech admission 2015 in Delhi ncr
Top BBA College in Delhi ncr

Jul 06, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Help with opinion and tips NEW
by: Jacob

I like the answer about changing the job. You should find another job and left the current. And I am suggesting you to do yoga regularly. It will heal you physically and mentally.
Thanks
best assignment australia

Jul 03, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
This is just great! I do really enjoy NEW
by: JohnnyDepp

This is just great! I do really enjoy this kind of articles I was very pleased to find this site.I wanted to thank you for this great read pass4sure 300-075!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.

Jun 18, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Apple products are revered NEW
by: Anonymous

Apple products are revered for its quality, precision and great design. SRSG started its operations as Apple technology partners in the year 1997.
Broadcast consultancy
Apple product dealers in delhi
Apple authorized service center Mumbai
Dejero Live
FM Channel License

Jun 18, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
quite eventful NEW
by: Anonymous

Apple products are revered for its quality, precision and great design. SRSG started its operations as Apple technology partners in the year 1997.
Apple product reseller in Delhi **
Apple service center Mumbai
Media office interiors
ipad dealers in Delhi

Jun 08, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
tickets NEW
by: Anonymous

Digital tickets utilizes Bluetooth technology instead of the GPS system to accurately determine your position. This can be used to send information from the beacon to the consumer’s electronic device directly.

Jun 04, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Please help with opinion and tips NEW
by: Martin

The essaycenter custom essay is the knowledging site to known the article reviews so very useful.It makes the best site very useful and gives good tips for students and all, very good informative article.

May 22, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
nice practice NEW
by: fedric

It is a good practice to rest after every exercise. It is good to go beyond the pain, but when it is dangerous stop that. And take rest for about one or two minutes. Otherwise it may harm the joints very badly as the Aaron said.making cheese curds

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Questions About Strength Training?.

Oh, and be sure to sign up for the e-zine Starting Strong to get monthly strength training, exercise, and diet tips e-mailed to you - and access to the free e-book Train Smart, Eat Smart: Exercise Nutrition Hacks!

Search CST...



The CST Facebook Page!




[?]Subscribe To This Site
  • XML RSS
  • follow us in feedly
  • Add to My Yahoo!
  • Add to My MSN
  • Subscribe with Bloglines

"About 2 weeks ago I read all the ab strengthening stuff on your site because I decided I wanted to be strong, instead of having a lot of belly fat. So I started eating healthier, running, exercising, you name it - everything your site said to do to help. Now I am noticing a real difference! Thank you for making this. :D xD"
~ Julia

[This calorie calculator is] the most useful tool on the web that I can find… Also, I compared the calories calculated by your calculator to the calories calculated by the treadmill at my gym, and they're within a couple calories of each other, so yours is as accurate as we're going to get. REALLY AWESOME TOOL. I love it and depend on it. Thank you sooooo much for making this available."
~ Galit Sharon Marcus

Thank you very much, I was too lean before 2 years (55 Kgs), after the gym now I'm 72kgs, all the muscles have developed... when someone hand shakes with me it can be squeezed easily, they're making fun of me!
~ Tamil Arasan